CCC Students Inducted into Phi Theta Kappa

2014-04-07 | Press Release from Coahoma Community College Public Relations - Brittany Davis, Assistant Director; (662) 621-4061 - bdavis@coahomacc.eduBookmark and Share

The 20 new inductees of the Coahoma Community College's chapter of Phi Theta Kappa pause for a quick photo before the induction ceremony begins on Friday evening in the Magnolia Room located inside the Zee A. Barron Student Union.

CLARKSDALE – Twenty Coahoma Community College students are now members of the prestigious Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society, following an induction ceremony Friday evening.

Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) was established in 1918 by college presidents and is the only nationally acclaimed honor fraternity serving American community colleges. The Alpha Omicron Phi Chapter of PTK was established on CCC’s campus in 1989 by Charles Reid, who advised the chapter along with co-advisors Dr. Jimmy Wiley, Modean Hudson, and Jacqueline Maxwell. Its current chapter advisors are Patricia Furdge and Karen Done.

“These are exceptional students,” said Furdge. “They are chosen because of their academic achievement and outstanding character. The organization promotes service and honor.”

Eligibility for membership includes a grade point average of at least 3.5 and recommendation from a faculty member. In addition, students desiring to join the society must have completed a minimum of 12 semester hours at Coahoma Community College and must be enrolled for a minimum of twelve academic semester hours during the current semester.

“One of the organization’s goals in to promote graduation from the 4-year college. Its mission is to help students with a seamless transition to a 4-year college,” said Done. “They’re the crème de la crème of Coahoma Community College.”

The organization affords its members with academic scholarships that cover full tuition, books and even room and board at some 4-year institutions.

The students inducted were: Lakeedra Allison, Jose Avillia, Tatyana Bryant, Cadarius Cannon, Kimberly Davis, Shikera Gray, Jonathan King, Tykenya Lee, Miracle Lynn, Johnesha Matthews, Samantha Matthews, Shanekqua McAbee, Christopher Neal, Blake Paden, Cynthia Scott, Aliyah Shivers, Cierra Triplet, Miracle Williams, Jennine Wyatt, and Tisha Young.