30 Top CCC Students Recognized as Presidential, Vice-Presidential Scholars

2014-04-24 | Press Release from Coahoma Community College Public Relations - Brittany Davis, Assistant Director; (662) 621-4061 - bdavis@coahomacc.eduBookmark and Share

CLARKSDALE - Coahoma Community College celebrated some of its top-achieving academic students during the annual Presidential and Vice-Presidential Scholars program Wednesday night.

During the program, held in the Zee A. Barron student union’s Magnolia Room, 13 students were recognized as Presidential Scholars for maintaining at least a 3.5 grade point average (GPA). In addition, 17 students with at least a 3.0 GPA were recognized as Vice Presidential Scholars.

“There are two reasons for an occasion such as this. One is to recognize and pay tribute and homage to those of you who have done so much to get to where you are now,” said Interim Vice President of Academic Affairs Jimmy Wiley as he welcomed the honorees, their families, and CCC faculty and staff.

He said the second purpose was to challenge the students and remind them that this is only the beginning.

“I don’t have to tell you that success comes before work in only one place—in the dictionary. This is a milestone in your life, and you represent what we’re trying to accomplish here at Coahoma Community College. We put you on display because we know that when you leave here, you will represent yourself and us well,” he said.

The program included special entertainment from CCC choir members under the direction of Director Kevin Towers. Dr. I.D. Thompson, former principal of Coahoma Agricultural High School and founder/senior consultant of Performance Enhancement Training highlighted the event as the guest speaker.

Thompson spoke to those in attendance, specifically the honorees, on the topic, “Keeping Your Dreams Alive.”

“I believe we are created to dream. Dreams have life—we can keep our dreams alive or kill them. Just as you must nurture a plant or it will die, the same is true with our dreams,” Thompson explained.

Thompson described two types of dreams—fanciful dreams that occur during sleep, and reality dreams.

“A reality dream must have a reality goal that can be reached with logical progression,” he said. “Everything was once just an idea. You have to push the start button in order to make that dream a reality.”

Thompson then charged everyone to recognize their own dreams, nurture them, and watch them grow.

“Our dreams are bigger than ourselves. They’re tied to our fore-parents. …those who have come before us are telling you to run on, keep going,” he said. “You must give it all you got because somebody gave it all they had. Tonight is only a celebration it is not a stopping point. This is a new beginning.”

CCC President Dr. Valmadge Towner thanked Thompson for his inspiring message and re-emphasized to the honorees the importance of keeping their dreams alive.

“Sometimes time can arrest us from dreaming. Scholars keep dreaming—it may not come to reality this hour, but just keep dreaming.”

Those students recognized as Presidential Scholars were: Willie Bays Jr. of Clarksdale, MS; Calvin Brown Sr. of Louise, MS; Mildrica Cannon of Lyon, MS; LaTora Gregory of Clarksdale, MS; Zachary Hopson of Jonestown, MS; Michael Jefferson of Leland, MS; Tony Jones of Clarksdale, MS; Jonathan King of Clarksdale, MS; Lisa Ramsey of Crenshaw, MS; Cle El Thornton of Moorhead; Willie Ringo III of Clarksdale; Darrell White of Moorhead, MS; and Tisha Young of Webb, MS.

Students recognized as Vice Presidential Scholars were: Aretha Bell of Cleveland, MS; Linda Dotson of Clarksdale, MS; Wairterrica Galmore of Friars Point, MS; Shirkera Gray of Friars Point; Brenda Harris-Watera of Clarksdale, MS; Kydesia Haynes of Frairs Point, MS; Valkyrie Linzy of Clarksdale, MS; Johnesha Matthews of Jonestown, MS; Samantha Matthews of Clarksdale, MS; Antionette Mayfield of Vicksburg, MS; Marykimsa Nolan of Frairs Point, MS; Aliyah Shivers of Clarksdale, MS; Danielle Smith of Marks, MS; Earlene Stokes of Clarksdale, MS; Ciera Triplett of Webb, MS; Eddie Wyatt of Clarksdale, MS; and Jennine Wyatt of Clarksdale, MS.

For more photos of the Presidential Scholars Program CLICK HERE.